Colombia, officially the Republic of Colombia (Spanish: República de Colombia, pronounced, is a constitutional republic in northwestern South America. Colombia is bordered to the east by Venezuela and Brazil;to the south by Ecuador and Peru; to the north by the Caribbean Sea; to the northwest by Panama; and to the west by the Pacific Ocean. Colombia also shares maritime borders with Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica.With a population of over 45 million people, Colombia has the 29th largest population in the world and the second largest in South America, after Brazil. Colombia has the third largest Spanish-speaking population in the world after Mexico and Spain.




World'' has enjoyed indipendence for very short periods of time. Since 1950 it's an autonomous province of China.