Serbia and Montenegro was a country in southeastern Europe, formed in 1992 from two former republics of SFR Yugoslavia: Serbia and Montenegro. Following the breakup of Yugoslavia, it was founded as a federation in 1992 under the name Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbo-Croatian, Serbian: Savezna Republika Jugoslavija, Савезна Република Југославија; SRJ, FRY). In 2003, it was reconstituted as a state union under the name State Union of Serbia and Montenegro (Serbo-Croatian, Serbian: Državna zajednica Srbija i Crna Gora, Државна заједница Србија и Црна Гора; SCG, СЦГ). On 21 May 2006, Montenegro held a referendum to seek full independence. Final official results indicated on 31 May that 55.5% of voters had elected to become independent. The state union effectively came to an end after Montenegro's formal declaration of independence on 3 June 2006 and Serbia's formal declaration of independence on 5 June. Many view this as symbolizing the final end of what was left from the former Yugoslavia.